CBD Legal States

Is CBD Oil Legal in Alabama? State Laws & Regulations

CBD oil Alabama

Alabama is a southeastern U.S. state that’s home to significant landmarks from the American Civil Rights Movement. The city of Birmingham’s 16th Street Baptist Church, now a museum, was a protest headquarters in the 1960s. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s church and the Rosa Parks Museum, dedicated to the activist, can be found in the capital of Montgomery.

Legalizing marijuana is not impossible to imagine anymore, as many states are passing laws to make it legal for their citizens. There are several reasons why that is happening; one is due to the effectiveness of CBD. In a brief time, the drug’s influence has been astounding. People both young and old seem to agree on the various benefits of CBD oil, as opposed to alternatives. In a short time, the popularity of CBD has risen as more and more people are starting to see the drug for what it is, instead of what they have heard.

Alabama is one of the many states with favorable views on CBD. Any patient in this state can enjoy CBD to treat any problems related to their disease. Still, you should always know the rules and regulations before deciding to order online or from your local dispensary.

 

What Makes CBD Healthy?

CBD is one of the compounds extracted from cannabis. CBD is preferable to other alternatives because of the benefits it can provide. The list includes therapeutic, anti-inflammatory, and anti-anxiety effects, as well as benefits for nausea, insomnia, and more. CBD has less than 0.3% THC. If you take CBD or apply it to your skin, you won’t feel any psychoactive effects. That is why so many states have legalized CBD: it is not known to cause harm to terminally-ill patients and may help ease the pain of those suffering.

The Legalization of CBD

The Farm Bill, introduced in 2018, brought some significant changes for CBD. This is when the industry saw a rise in popularity among many citizens. The state did create some laws to follow on CBD. This is exactly where most people get lost, as the law itself is very complex. It is hard to go through all the regulations on CBD and everything around it, from the possession of CBD oil to using it on patients. They all require CBD users to follow a set of rules to get the compound.

The Guidance on Alabama Law Regarding the Possession, Use, and Sale, or Distribution of CBD provides a better understanding of CBD. One of the main rules is the THC content of CBD. THC content should always stay below 0.3%. This is the limit for CBD sold to patients. Once CBD crosses the 0.3% mark, it is considered a violation of the law.

The law also states that CBD shouldn’t be added to any foods or beverages, nor can CBD makers put any claims on bottles. Most of the claims were unproven, companies were adding claims such as curing deficit disorders, Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, cancer, and more to sell the product. That would go against the FDA, as one letter written by the FDA states that there should be no CBD in food products or any written claims.

 

Production of CBD

When it comes to CBD itself, it is tightly regulated. SB 225, which was signed back in 2019, allowed Alabama pharmacies to sell CBD products to patients. If you are planning to grow CBD in your backyard, you need to have a permit from the state, or this would violate existing law. When you sign up to get a license, you will need to pay a $200 application fee and a $1,000 annual fee upon approval. Of course, various checks are required to see if you have a criminal record. Then, lab testing is done to see if your hemp product contains less than 0.3% THC. If the hemp product successfully stays below the limit, you will be one step closer to your product’s approval.

 

There are no rules preventing selling products. As long as a hemp product stays below the limit of 0.3%, you are free to sell the product. Make sure you stay below that limit because the penalty is harsh in Alabama for violating the law.

 

Penalties

If your hemp product has more than the legal amount of THC, you can face 2 to 20 years in prison with a $30,000 fine. The charges are higher if someone sells hemp product to a minor; this results in 10 years to a possible life sentence and a $60,000 fine.

 Possession of cannabis above the legal limit is a misdemeanor, punished by one year in jail with a $6,000 fine. As you can see, the rules and regulations are rather harsh in Alabama. As long as you stay within the legal limit, you can buy it from your local dispensaries or order them online.

 

Conclusion

While it is legal to buy and produce CBD products, the laws keep growers and patients using products under the legal limit for THC. As CBD becomes more popular around the world, a growing number of people are starting to pay more attention to the subject. The market is looking healthy, but if you want to capture the market, you need to pay attention to all of the laws. As for patients, consult your doctor before taking CBD for your health. Your doctor will give you the proper advice for making the perfect decision.

Azriel Adelberg
About Azriel Adelberg

MSc Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley An Israeli born organic chemist and PROUD University of California, Berkeley graduate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 + five =